We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay).

The Story so far:
1933 – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 – Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 – The Red Balloon
1965 – Mary Poppins
1969 – Charly

The 46th Academy Awards ceremony took place on Tuesday, April 2, 1974 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, awarding movies released in 1973.

Writing (Adapted Screenplay): The Exorcist – William Peter Blatty

Although the Oscar for Original Screenplay went to David S. Ward for The Sting, Blatty was rewarded for best adaptation. It was also the first horror film to be nominated for Best Picture Academy Award, which that year went to The Sting instead.

This horror cult classic sets the pace for the countless movies on demonic possession that would follow. It tells the story of Father Karras, who in the midst of self-doubt, will need to perform an exorcism on a little girl, Regan, to save her from an ancient demon.

Watching Regan’s spinning head today may seem a little laughable, especially after Beetlejuice, but back then it was a whole lotta trouble, without forgetting the pea-vomiting session and the truly nasty stuff she does with that crucifix.

And then of course there is Tubular Bells, written by Mike Oldfield, for the opening and closing of the movie. If you’ve never heard it, do yourself a favour and click here.

Oscar Run: Sci-fi 2 – Fantasy 4