The David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy enters its ninth year in 2017, once again giving readers and fans of the genre their chance to vote for the best fantasy novel, best fantasy debut and best fantasy cover art.

As of the 13th January, members of the public will have the chance to nominate their favourite titles for the Awards Longlist alongside the nominations from publishers. Titles must be in the category of epic or heroic fantasy, be traditionally published by a mainstream or independent press (self published titles will not be considered) and have been first published in English in 2016. Nominations must be made by email by the 31st January, including the category you would like to nominate each title for – The Legend Award for best fantasy novel, The Morningstar Award for best fantasy debut or The Ravenheart Award for best fantasy art.

Awards Chair Stan Nicholls said: ‘The Gemmell Awards have always very much been about giving the readers the chance to have their say on what has been the best fantasy, and the public nominations are a key part of that. If there’s a fantasy book you’ve loved this year, let us know and it can be considered for the awards process.’

Public nominations should be sent to Alex Davis, Awards Administrator, at [email protected] with the subject header GEMMELL AWARDS NOMINATIONS. Nominations must be received by midnight on the 31st January 2017 (UK time) to be considered.

The David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy will be presented on the evening of the 15th July 2017 at the Edge-Lit 6 event in Derby. For more information on the event, visit or for more about the awards visit

The David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy were launched in 2009, in tribute to bestselling fantasy author David Gemmell, who passed away in 2006, and to honour the best fiction and artwork in the heroic fantasy field.  Recipients of the awards include authors Andrzei Sapkowski, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, Brent Weeks, John Gwynne, Mark Lawrence, Brian McClellan and Peter Newman; and artists including Didier Graffet, Raymond Swanland, Jason Chan and Sam Green.

The awards’ website page can be found at and its Facebook page at