The David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy enters its ninth year in 2017, once again honouring and celebrating the very finest in epic fantasy. Named after one of the best-loved authors in the field, awards will be presented for the categories of best fantasy novel, best fantasy debut and best fantasy cover art.

The awards are decided entirely by public vote, and there are now just a few days left for readers and fans to get their votes in. In making your voice heard, you’ll give titles the chance to reach the shortlist and have the opportunity to claim one of the prestigious prizes, with the ceremony taking place at the Edge-Lit 6 event at QUAD, Derby on the 15th July.

Voting for the longlist will be open until the 31st March, with the shortlisted titles announced on the 21st April ready for the final vote on who will win the Legend Award, the Morningstar Award and the Ravenheart Award.

This year’s longlist is one of the biggest for many years, and features no less than eleven past winners in its number, as well as titles representing more than twenty different publishers from the UK and beyond. The list also takes in authors from all over Europe, North America and Australasia, giving the longlist a great international feel.

Awards Chair Stan Nicholls said: ‘We’ve had a great response to the longlists so far, but we’re keen for as many people as possible to get involved in the awards. The Gemmell Awards has always been about interaction with readers, and giving them the chance to express their views, so the more people that take part in the voting process the better!’

For more information, or to cast your vote for each of the three categories of the Gemmell Awards, visit

The David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy were launched in 2009, in tribute to bestselling fantasy author David Gemmell, who passed away in 2006, and to honour the best fiction and artwork in the heroic fantasy field.  Recipients of the awards include authors Andrzei Sapkowski, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, Brent Weeks, John Gwynne, Mark Lawrence, Brian McClellan and Peter Newman; and artists including Didier Graffet, Raymond Swanland, Jason Chan and Sam Green.

The awards’ website page can be found at and its Facebook page.