We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay).

The Story so far:
1933 – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 – Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 – The Red Balloon
1965 – Mary Poppins
1969 – Charly
1974 – The Exorcist
1991 – Misery & Ghost
2004 – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2005 – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
2013 – Life of Pi
2014 – Gravity

The 89th Academy Awards ceremony took place on Sunday, February 26, 2017 at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center, awarding movies released in 2016. 2017

By now most of you will have heard of the wrong film named as best picture and the ensuing clamour about it – awkward… The team of La La Land got to the middle of their acceptance speech, when someone had to stop them mid-thank to rectify the error. Moonland took Best Picture, plus Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor. La La Land still managed to rake 6 Oscars, not a bad way to end a night.

Unfortunately for us, no wins for Fantasy or Science Fiction in the 5 main categories. However, 4 Oscars from the other categories were allocated to:

1. Best Costume Design: Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them
2. Best Makeup & Hairstyling: Suicide Squad
3. Best Visual Effects: The Jungle Book
4. Best Sound Editing: Arrival