We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay).

The Story so far:
1933 – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 – Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 – The Red Balloon
1965 – Mary Poppins

The 41st Academy Awards ceremony took place on Monday, April 14, 1969 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, awarding movies released in 1968.

Best Actor: Cliff Robertson – Charly

Cliff Robertson won the Oscar for his portrayal of Charly, a man with a cognitive disability. He is taken to a clinic, where doctors decide to perform an experiment on him which should raise his intelligence. The fact that said experiment had greatly improved that of the mouse Algernon, was obviously a good sign enough for them. Lo and behold, Charly’s intelligence does improve, to the point where he turns into a genius. Unfortunately, it all comes crashing down when he learns the truth and has to face all the moral dilemmas that come with it.

In 1966 Daniel Keyes wrote the novel Flowers for Algernon, creating the inspiration for this movie.

Oscar Run: Sci-fi 2 – Fantasy 3